The Community Blog for Business Analysts

Lori Smith
Lori Smith

What is TOGAF and How to Get a TOGAF Certification

TOGAF is a certification that is handed over by The Open Group. It is an open corporate architecture means used to improvise upon the business effectiveness across the world’s leading business set-ups. Aspirants wishing for a successful career in corporate architecture must go for the TOGAF certification in order to explain their ideas as well as knowledge of architecture.

TOGAF came into existence in the early 1990s as a method to enhance the technical architecture and later got modified by The Open Group into a different as well as promising architecture chain of systems. The first prepared version of TOGAF was launched into the market in the year 1995.


 The TOGAF 9 certification is made accessible to the candidates in basically two levels, namely the Foundation (which is Part 1) and the Certified (which is considered as Part 2). However, there are several different techniques or paths that are explained by the Open Group in order to achieve these advanced certifications

Eligibility sector and the requirements for the same

For TOGAF Foundation (The Part 1) exam, there is absolutely no eligibility sector or needs for the same. All the desiring individuals are well eligible as well as can manage to hike up the examination.

 For TOGAF Certified (The Part 2) exam, individuals must be verified as well as equipped in TOGAF Foundation or must have a minimum required mark for the TOGAF Foundation exam from the same supplier (which is also framed as the ATTC provider) that they wish to take up the Part 2 of the examination.

Exam methods or guide to the exam (Some basic tips)

As mentioned earlier in other sectors, individuals can either make up all by themselves or choose to attend several training at an improvised as well as a well-recognized institute.

Individuals who have already registered with the Prometric heads and are further looking to make ready all by themselves can avail certain advantages from the study guide that is available on the Open Group official website. It is always available for online teaching as well as gathering knowledge in the Open Group Bookstore (or the OGB) as well.

However, most of such candidates prefer getting enrolled in a training period with certain renowned institutes like the Sprintzeal. Apart from availing of such training courses, these organizations also include in their study material examination fee either on the official site or as a voucher will be presented in order to attend a Prometric test head. 

Examination framework or chain of systems

The TOGAF certification is attained only after successfully completing the respective examinations, as mentioned below.

Part 1 of the exam (This has a base pass mark of at least 55 % for the same reason)

 - 40 inquiries (which are all of the multiple-choice types)

 - Each successful choice answer counts as one point

 - A minimum of 22 points should be achieved. 

Part 2 of the exam (This has a moderate pass percentage, which sums up to be around 60 % for the appropriate qualification)

 - 8 inquiries which are purely based on hectic scenarios with subtle scoring

 - Each correct answer sums up to be 5 points, the second-best solution scores to be 3 points, and the third-best outcome adds up to be 1 point.

 - Open book system (An important point)

2 basic keys as well as beneficiary ideas to be well remembered 

* Collect decisive information about the Agile Development program.

TOGAF depends heavily on the basic agile rules as well as techniques of continuous and statistical enhancement, including the development field. Having a solid grounding in agile deep-thinking methodology will assist you in understanding how to apply TOGAF as well as preferably the ADM as well.

* Be sure of the outcomes of the basic study guides.

The Open Group has given two such basic guides, one for each section of the two parts of the exam. You should at least grasp all the ideas from Part 1 because it covers all the possible ideas that could possibly appear in the Part 1 exam. And within some 180 to 200 pages, it is a far precise guide as well. If you have enough remaining time, you should also go for Part 2 of the same and give it a good read.

This entry was published on Apr 11, 2021 / Lori Smith. Posted in Technical Topics. Bookmark the Permalink or E-mail it to a friend.
Like this article:
  1 members liked this article

Related Articles


Only registered users may post comments.

Modern Analyst Blog Latests

As we start a new year many of us will take the time to reflect on our accomplishments from 2012 and plan our goals for 2013. We can set small or large goals. goals that will be accomplished quickly or could take several years. For 2013, I think Business Analysts should look to go beyond our traditional boundaries and set audacious goals. Merriam-...
Recently, I was asked by the IIBA to present a talk at one of their chapter meetings. I am reprinting here my response to that invitation in the hope that it will begin a conversation with fellow EEPs and BAs about an area of great concern to the profession. Hi xx …. Regarding the IIBA talk, there is another issue that I am considering. It's p...
Continuing the ABC series for Business Analysts, Howard Podeswa created the next installment titled "BA ABCs: “C” is for Class Diagram" as an article rather than a blog post. You can find the article here: BA ABCs: “C” is for Class Diagram Here are the previous two posts: BA ABCs: “A” is for Activity Diagram BA ABCs: “B” is for BPMN


Blog Information

» What is the Community Blog and what are the Benefits of Contributing?

» Review our Blog Posting Guidelines.

» I am looking for the original Modern Analyst blog posts.


Copyright 2006-2024 by Modern Analyst Media LLC