Forums for the Business Analyst

Modern Analyst Forums  Business and Sy...  Data Analysis f...  Data Analyst vs. Business Analyst???
Previous Previous

Next Next
New Post 6/18/2012 3:27 PM
Informative
User is offline Hambone678
2 posts
No Ranking

Data Analyst vs. Business Analyst??? 

Hi,

This will be my first post for this forum, so pardon me if the question seems a little naive!  I am fairly new to the term business analyst, but I have lately realized that some of the things I do on a regular basis in my career is like business analysis (process modelling, performance management, etc.).  I work on a provincial program that disburses funds to municipalities.  We have targets for processing times and other metrics.

Anyway, I noticed in Canadian Business that data analyst is one of the top 10 jobs: http://www.canadianbusiness.com/gallery/80083--canada-s-top-10-jobs?page=8.  What is the relationship between a business analyst and a data analyst?  Are they basically interchangeable?

I ask the question because in searches on career websites, many results come up for business analyst but not many for data analyst. 

Cheers!

Eric

New Post 6/19/2012 10:32 AM
User is offline Tony Markos
493 posts
5th Level Poster

Re: Data Analyst vs. Business Analyst??? 

Eric:

Looking at Data Analysis within Wikipedia, a Data Analyst can do a variety data related tasks including Data Modeling to describe info, Data Mining, which includes data modeling for predictive purposes and Buisness Intelligence, which relates to aggregation of data (not sure what that is).

From what I have experienced, a Data Analyst is most often focused on the first, Data Modeling.